Anantapuramu-Hindupur Urban Development Authority (AHUDA) was constituted on 24.03.2017 vide G.O.Ms.No.110, MA&UD(H1) Department. Government of Andhra Pradesh under powers granted under section 3 and 4 of the Andhra Pradesh Urban Areas (Development) Act, 1975 with Anantapuramu Municipal Corporation, Dharmavaram municipality, Hindupur municipality and 180 surrounding villages in 18 Mandals. This authority is notified under Andhra Pradesh Metropolitan Region and Urban Development Authorities Act 2016. The area under AHUDA covers a total of 3120.05 Sq.kms.

Further vide G.O.Ms.No.167, MA&UD(H1) Department, Dt:22.05.2018 has included Urvakonda Constituency with five (5) Mandals ie., Kuderu, Vajrakarur,
Beluguppa, Urvakonda and Vidpankal along with the villages in the said Mandal with a total Extent of 1900.44 Sq.Km in Anantapuramu-Hindupur Urban Development Authority.

AHUDA will be governed by under Andhra Pradesh Metropolitan Region and Urban Development Authorities Act 2016 with the objective of achieving orderly (planned) growth and environmental upgradation wherever necessary. For this purpose, AHUDA intends to prepare a master plan covering the entire limits of 5020.49 Sq.kms. The population of AHUDA region as per Census 2011 is 16,60,668 covering 264 Villages and 3 Ulbs( Anantapuramu Municipal Corporation, Hindupur Municipality & Dharamavaram Municipality)